The draw of an Evangelistic service.

So for those who don’t know, I still go to church, that’s actually part of my peace-treaty with my wife to keep some of the peace at home.  It’s okay for now.  However there are times when it has its moments.

So a while back our church held an evangelistic service where we streamed live (via internet on the church screen) a pastor by the name of Greg Laurie.  Every year Pastor Greg Laurie holds a huge evangelistic service called Harvest America where over 2,000 churches across the nation get to together to hear a message from the Renowned Evangelist to proclaim the Gospel and to harvest america for God.  He has reached out to nearly a quarter million people this last Harvest America crusade and over 4 million in the last 20 years using this grand evangelism service.  (Check out his Promo Video Below.)

So of course at the end of every evangelistic message, service, or concert they do a call to salvation.  This was to be expected, as I’ve seen more than I can count.  And I remember standing while listening to the music and the message, and seeing the people at my church venue walk down to the front for prayer and to receive salvation.  I remember thinking to myself, “I want to be saved!  I want to believe!”  Not only was I thinking that, but I was also thinking, “That all I need to do to be saved is walk to the front and just give my life to Jesus.  It’s that easy!”  I felt the emotion of the atmosphere in my heart and I felt the call to salvation in the message and the music.  And then I started thinking to myself  how awesome of a testimony it would be to tell others at my church and friends how GOD saved me from atheism.  And that I have been delivered from atheism.  And oh how I wish to be saved again and believe.  -So I was thinking.

However that mentality of thinking was the problem.  That all I need is to do is just believe.  And God will make himself real to me.  I could have walked down and believed and confessed and prayed all I want.  But that doesn’t make the Christian God anymore real than me believing in the Easter Bunny.  Just because a person chooses to believe doesn’t make God exist.  

Then it dawned to me, if I did walk down there and receive salvation, what answer would I give as proof or explanation for God’s existence to another atheist if I ever did come across one.

If I was to walk down, I would have been doing it only out of emotion and the emotion of the atmosphere.  Not because a man who died 2,000 years ago believed he was God.  But because the stirring of the message and the emotion of the atmosphere.  What good is it to believe something if you really don’t have a good reason to believe or you can’t adequately explain WHY? you believe.  Just because you believe does not make it true.  And then I thought to myself and prayed this to myself, that I ever become a christian again or believe in God, I don’t want it to be just for me.  I want it to be that I am able to give a reasonable answer to any atheist or unbeliever.  What good does it do, if only I believe, but I can’t give a reason or proof  for belief.

About M. Rodriguez

When I first received Christ salvation, I made it a priority to read the whole bible and I did. But it was the Bible that made me question my faith. For I found it flawed and lacking. Due to this I launched a personal inquiry/investigation into my faith, and ultimately realized that the Christian God of the Bible was indeed man-made. Now I Blog about those findings and life after Christ.
This entry was posted in atheist, belief, christ, confusion, doubt faith, faith, Free-Thought, jesus, jesus the christ, jesus the messiah, life, message, pastor, religion, youtube and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The draw of an Evangelistic service.

  1. Brenda says:

    Very insightful. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Don Hartness says:

    Curiously, I wrote about a parallel topic this morning…but I won’t spam your comments with it. ;-)

    Your post reminds me to write about this (Nate had a similar comment on his blog). I’ve always had a problem with this “name it and claim it” mentality, as if faith and belief was a simple matter of jumping through a couple of hoops and “presto!” I think the proof is in the pudding; with so many “conversions” taking place every Sunday, why is there no evident change in behavior? Hmmmm?

    • M. Rodriguez says:

      well greg laurie is not what I call a ‘name it and claim it’ preacher. His messages are very evangelical, but he is not a word of faith prosperity preacher.

      however, I can say that his evangelical message was very simple and typical. He said nothing that I have not heard before. Pretty much it was, Give your life to god, repent of your sins, turn to Jesus…It was a very simplistic and typical message. Even my pastor said to me afterwards, that it was a somewhat watered down message. (And I would have to agree with him on that. but in my experience, all evangelical messages are watered down.)

  3. Neil Rickert says:

    That all I need is to do is just believe. And God will make himself real to me.

    I do think this is a misunderstanding of Christianity, though not by you. Perhaps the preacher didn’t quite mean it that way. Earlier (in the same post) you wrote:

    Not only was I thinking that, but I was also thinking, “That all I need to do to be saved is walk to the front and just give my life to Jesus. It’s that easy!”

    But that isn’t easy. Giving your life to Jesus entails a significantly greater commitment than to just believe. The kind of emotional appeal that you experienced made it seem easier than it is supposed to be. Being born again is supposed to be transformative, and a mere belief cannot achieve that.

    A few days ago, in a forum on evolution vs. creation, a fundamentalist Christian wrote:

    Christianity is all about what God did for us through his Son. It has absolutely nothing to do with us and especially nothing to do with our actions.

    I responded to ask him to explain the difference between Christianity and hedonism. He has not replied to that request.

    So perhaps the preacher didn’t really mean that it is merely a matter of belief, but that is the message that many are hearing from those sermons.

  4. Pingback: My Last Prayer | The BitterSweet End

  5. Pingback: Saying Goodbye to Religous Dogma | The BitterSweet End

Leave a Reply

