My First Atheist Meetup

First and foremost, let me apologize that I have not been posting, commenting, or responding to comments much in these last few weeks.  I have been very busy with work.  During this time of the year I sometimes have to work a lot of overtime.  Just the other week I put in 76 hours.  But since that is now done, I will now have more free time.

So I recently just attended my first atheist meetup.  It was a small meetup with only 5 of us there.  It was at a local bar.  I was actually a little nervous going into it, because I didn’t know what to expect.  It actually went well.

This atheist meetup group is much more social and recreational oriented then some of the others I’ve seen on meetup.com.  The meetup included two young married couples, about my same age, but with no kids.  Usually when meeting other married couples, I like to engage with ones that have kids, I usually I find myself more engaged in common conversation when speaking to couples that have kids vs. those that don’t.  However I was almost like the 5th wheel considering I was the only one without their spouse, but I explained the situation to them and they understood.  Really from attending the meetup this is what I gathered and stood out.  Is that I was the most knowledgeable on the aspects of Christianity and the faults of Christianity.  For them, they just came to the realization that this religious stuff made no sense and that there was no god.  For them, god and religion just did not make sense.  This was probably because even though we all had a Christian religious background, mine was the most fundamentalist.  Where as I need a reason as to why I don’t believe, and they can just come to a more natural rationalization as to that god and religion does not make sense and does not exist.  There was one guy who had a somewhat similar fundamentalist background with him being Homeschooled through High School, but he was relatively reserved half the night.  Of course I was the only minority there, but that is something that I’ve grown accustomed too especially as I have grown older and makes no grip about.  It was a good meetup, with a lot of good conversation, it lasted about two and half hours.

For me it was a good release for me to openly talk about my De-conversion, and also get a perspective of life without god from other people.

About M. Rodriguez

When I first received Christ salvation, I made it a priority to read the whole bible and I did. But it was the Bible that made me question my faith. For I found it flawed and lacking. Due to this I launched a personal inquiry/investigation into my faith, and ultimately realized that the Christian God of the Bible was indeed man-made. Now I Blog about those findings and life after Christ.
This entry was posted in atheist, emotions, life, marriage, purpose and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My First Atheist Meetup

  1. Nate says:

    I’m glad to hear the meetup went well.

    I was the most knowledgeable on the aspects of Christianity and the faults of Christianity. For them, they just came to the realization that this religious stuff made no sense and that there was no god. For them, god and religion just did not make sense. This was probably because even though we all had a Christian religious background, mine was the most fundamentalist. Where as I need a reason as to why I don’t believe, and they can just come to a more natural rationalization as to that god and religion does not make sense and does not exist.

    I’ve found this to be the case too. It took lots and lots of study to prove to me that Christianity wasn’t true, but my best friend was able to realize it with very little study. Of course, I realize Islam is just a made-up religion, but I imagine it would take mountains of evidence to prove that to a dedicated Muslim. Just goes to show how difficult it is for all of us to look at our own beliefs objectively.

    • M. Rodriguez says:

      I’m glad there is someone who understands that feeling. I was intitally thinking about leaving that part about the meeting out of the post, because I didn’t want to come off as arrogant, but I left it in because that was probably one the most glaring things that I noticed about the meetup. And it actually caught me off guard, because I was under the assumption that all or other atheist had left the faith after evaluating mountains of evidence and contradictory evidence, however that was not the case. It was more for them, that religion did not make common sense.

      I did want to drop you a line on your blog, about that last post you put up on Christmas, but after reading it, I decided I will probably do a response post, to it instead.

  2. aynway says:

    I’ve had a difficult time finding ex-evangelicals to talk to. I’m surrounded mainly by angry ex-Catholics, and our experiences are so different. I keep searching…

Leave a Reply

