In My Search for Objective Truth

To evaluate the christian apologetic answers.  In the never ending search for objective reasonable truth, and not all possible truth.

For here we are not afraid to follow truth wherever it may lead, nor to tolerate any error so long as reason is left free to combat it.” – Thomas Jefferson

In my search for not just truth, but also Objective Truth, I found this quote by Thomas Jefferson to be both striking & powerful.  In that he reflects, that one should never fear truth no matter how much it hurts or conflicts with their inner man.  But that the search for Truth is always worth it; -in-spite of our personal opinions, preferences or cognitive dissonance.

 

*I first found this quote on the home page of the Blog Finding Truth.
About M. Rodriguez

When I first received Christ salvation, I made it a priority to read the whole bible and I did. But it was the Bible that made me question my faith. For I found it flawed and lacking. Due to this I launched a personal inquiry/investigation into my faith, and ultimately realized that the Christian God of the Bible was indeed man-made. Now I Blog about those findings and life after Christ.
This entry was posted in founding fathers, history, logic, message, occam's razor, philosophy, quote and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to In My Search for Objective Truth

  1. unklee says:

    “But that the search for Truth is always worth it; -in-spite of our personal opinions, preferences or cognitive dissonance.”

    You and I agree here, Marcus, even though we think differently about what that truth is.

    But I wonder what you think about this? Most atheists are also Naturalists (or Physicalists, or Materialists – they are close to the same), meaning that they believe that this physical universe is all there is. If that is so, then our minds are simply the result of electro-physical processes in our brains, and there is nothing else of “us” that can direct our thinking.

    The outcome is that we humans don’t actually have the freedom to choose anything other than what our brain processes choose for us. So famous biologist Francis Crick wrote of the ‘astonishing hypothesis’: “You, your joys and your sorrows, your memories and your ambitions, your sense of personal identity and free will, are in fact no more than the behaviour of a vast assembly of nerve cells and their associated molecules.”

    Neuroscientists who believe this is the case have discussed what the implications are – see for example this column by Jerry Coyne. Some have concluded that we need to maintain the illusion of free will for our own sanity and the safe functioning of society (see e.g. this article in Scientific American).

    This would then be one case where, it is said, knowing the truth may not be helpful. What do you think?

    • M. Rodriguez says:

      I have heard of the illusory of free will from atheist neurologist Sam Harris. That is a hard thing to wrap my mind around cause I was really big on the debate of free will even prior me deconverting. And the idea that our idea of free will conflicts with neurology does make the topic more interesting. However like I said that is a difficult notion for me to wrap my brain around.

  2. arkenaten says:

    Always makes me smile when Christians and other upstanding god fearing folk, l talk about truth, and then try to explain to us unwashed going to hell heathens that the Truth can be found in Jesus. Hallelujah, praise the Lowd””
    And Jesus can be found in the Bible; a more heinous collection of barbarism you will be unlikely to find. Fortunately, it is nothing more than a collection of several works of fiction.Gruesome, but fictitious nonetheless.
    I tend to suffer from subjective deafness whenever religious person discusses truth. It’s a bit like listening to the gardener when he says, “‘Scuse me guvnor? Where would like me to spread this manure?”

    Which is why Christians are afraid of the truth…

  3. Newbie :) says:

    Have you ever tried analysing the Quran of the muslims objectively? Im a muslim by birth and dont practise religiously and so my view might be bias but f everything in the Quran is read in the context of the verse and in the context of the whole chapter and futher in the context of the total light of what the Quran brings forth one finds no contridictions?? Each to his own i say but if you come across truth of this nature and you can make sense of it and reason with your finding i think at best it should make you refelct on why we are here.

    Im not a writer lol so please excuse any errors in grammar spelling and puncuation :)

    In the name of truthseekers the world over :) ( seek and you shall find, be open minded even if it goes against what is so called the ‘norm’).

    May we all learn to find common ground and have healthy discussion about the differences.

    About the Bible being the true word of God that you’ve already answered even though im of the view that there are many things in the bible that carry great weight and substance, its just been minipulated by the hands of man. Thats my honest view.

    Kind Regards
    Newbie :) ( Newbie cause this is the first ive ever posted anything lol).

Leave a Reply

