Food for Thought

After my last post about the Christian vs. Atheist debate, it got me thinking.  I have read several atheist blogs and Youtube videos and I have noticed several common traits.

Almost all the atheist blogs, use the argument of science to say that God doesn’t exist.  They never bring up the arguments of contradictions in the bible.   So, I have come to a conclusion that most atheist have never read the bible.  That kind of blows me away.  I think someone should have a little bit of knowledge on something before they believe it or not believe it.

The second reason why I bring this up, is for any atheist reading this…..stop using SCIENCE as an argument on why you don’t believe the bible.  Alot of Christians are knowledgeable on the issue of science vs. religion.  And on top of that many believers have been trained how to rebuttal many of these arguments.   (It’s called apologetic s.)  To put it plain in simple, because Christians argue and debate so much within each other, they are usually better at debating the issue of science vs. religion.

About M. Rodriguez

When I first received Christ salvation, I made it a priority to read the whole bible and I did. But it was the Bible that made me question my faith. For I found it flawed and lacking. Due to this I launched a personal inquiry/investigation into my faith, and ultimately realized that the Christian God of the Bible was indeed man-made. Now I Blog about those findings and life after Christ.
This entry was posted in agnostic, apologetic, atheist, bible, christian, debate, god, religion vs. science, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Food for Thought

  1. Lorena says:

    Oh my gosh! How can you you reach such a misguided conclusion. The explanation may be that you missed the ex-Christians. There is lots of us. Many are former pastors and missionaries, others like me were Bible-thumping nuts. Obviously, you didn’t read enough blogs!

    • I got this perspective on reading different blogs, youtube videos and also personal encounters. I have gone out witnessing on many occasions, and on the few occasions I have come across an atheist/agnostic none of them have ever read the bible.

      However i am speaking from the perspective of personal experience and encounters,

  2. I’ll take it easy on you because you are looking for answers. You’re mistaken and misguided, but you are at least starting to question some things and I encourage you to continue doing so.
    Now, like it or not, logic, critical thinking and sound reasoning, coupled with science can all be used to provide excellent reasons as to why the Bible is not the word of some deity and should not be believed. So, NO, atheists are not going to stop using common sense and science to demonstrate that holy books are not to be believed.
    On the other hand, however, science cannot definitively say that there are no gods. You cannot prove a negative.
    On the topic of who is better at debating the science vs. religion conflict, I can only say that you must not have not done much reading on the subject or been exposed to science. And PLEASE make an effort to understand the difference between making a clever (yet unsubstantiated) argument and being factually correct. Professional creationists and other science deniers make a living off of folks that are wowed and impressed with slick presentations, appeal to emotion and made-up bullshit.
    As far as the contradictions in the bible…yeah…so what? You are not the first to notice them and you won’t be the last. Besides, you can prove that the entire bible is bullshit (and it IS), but that does not in any way demonstrate that there are no gods or a god. True, demonstrating that the bible is nothing more than scribblings from primitives does much to discredit the concept of your deity, but it does not prove that he doesn’t exist. Science, however…science and sound reasoning show that the existence of a deity is indeed very, very, very unlikely.

    • My point in saying don’t use science, is because if the fundamental ground for someone’s believe is the bible. Then use their own foundation against them. That will much farther then talking about science.

      (The side reason for also saying that, is because many Christians will immediately toss out the science jargon because to them the Bible is the basis for science.)

      • I understand where you are coming from, but that does not change the fact that much of the bible can be easily refuted by science. If not science, then logic, common sense, morality and history all serve to disprove the bible as being divinely inspired.
        Yes, one can use the inconsistencies in the bible to refute it, but there is no reason on earth to limit your arsenal to one methodology.
        Is there any reason why we can’t use your method and other methods as well to disprove the bible? Why does it have to be “either-or”? That’s not only a false dichotomy, but you are unnecessarily limiting yourself.

    • You correct most Christians don’t read the bible.

      But I know many different Believers with different doctrines, and all they do is debate doctrine, and atheist/agnostic. To them its fun to debate. But here is the thing about debating. Debating is not about discovering truth. It’s about proving oneself right and the other wrong. This is why personally I’m not a huge fan of debating

  3. P.S. I was a religious fundamentalist myself. I’m more than familiar with Christian apologetics. Prior to becoming a Protestant fundie, I was raised both Muslim and Catholic. I attended the University of Detroit Jesuit Academy where I was trained in Catholic dogma and theology from a young age. The Bible…I’ve read it. 6 times. Not many Christians have even read it once. In fact, you’ll find that many atheists are intimately familiar with the religions they criticize. It seems, however, that you are not very familiar with atheism. I suggest you take some time to learn what it is, and -just as important- what it isn’t. I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised…if you are indeed searching for answers based in reality.

  4. ” I think someone should have a little bit of knowledge on something before they believe it or not believe it.”
    How many Christians REALLY know their Bible? The overwhelming majority of Christians don’t, from my experience. They know whatever verses they’ve been spoon-fed during services and whatever they’ve had transliterated for them in weekly Bible Study.

Leave a Reply

