Making Sense of 2 Timothy 3:16-17

Making Sense of Inspiration

For anybody who has followed my blog, this has been my biggest gripe and stumbling block on dealing with the Inerrancy-Errancy of the Bible.  And I have for the most part, I’ve come to realize the bible has errors.  So in dealing with this, I asked (Atheist) Nate from Finding Truth and (Christian) Eric a.k.a. UnkleE from The Way? , Is There a God? to both do a contribution post on making sense of 2 Timothy 3:16-17 and the inspiration of God and the Bible.

So I sent them both an e-mail with the following questions and parameter of 1400 words to address: (Please forgive Nate for going over the 1400 words, he also lacks a belief in counting..J/K, couldn’t help myself.):

>> > how are you doing,  I was wondering if you would like to do a contribution peace on 2 tim. 3:26-27  and on inspiration and inerrancy/errancy of the bible.    And what it all means?

> Does the belief in the bible require belief in inerrancy?
> What does 2 Timothy 3:16-17, actually mean?
> Does an errant bible affect Christianity as a whole?  (does it diminish the testimony of christ, the value of the cross, or the reliability of the bible?)
> Is is reasonable to say the bible is errant, but I still believe?
> Are the issues of Errancy or Inerrancy essential to the faith?
> Does the bible call or require the doctrine of inerrancy?
> What does inspired mean?
> IF the bible is errant, how can one interpret the bible objectively?

The following is the response:

About M. Rodriguez

When I first received Christ salvation, I made it a priority to read the whole bible and I did. But it was the Bible that made me question my faith. For I found it flawed and lacking. Due to this I launched a personal inquiry/investigation into my faith, and ultimately realized that the Christian God of the Bible was indeed man-made. Now I Blog about those findings and life after Christ.
This entry was posted in 2 timothy 3:16-17, atheist vs christian, bible, biblical inerrancy, biblical inspiration, debate, God-Breathed, inerrancy, infalliable, inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Making Sense of 2 Timothy 3:16-17

  1. Nate says:

    So I sent them both an e-mail with the following questions and parameter of 1400 words to address: (Please forgive Nate for going over the 1400 words, he also lacks a belief in counting..J/K, couldn’t help myself.):

    Haha! Sorry about that — I totally forgot about the word limit! 🙂

  2. Thanks for the post and for your guest authors…I’m enjoying reading them both.

  3. didn’t realize he had a second post on 2 Timothy 3:16, which is just as interesting. http://askanatheist.wordpress.com/2008/07/07/new-testament-inspired-scripture/

  4. Peter says:

    I really appreciated the two points of view. I came to the conclusion several years ago that there is an enormous difference between the Christian RELIGION and the Christian FAITH. I’ve known in my own mind for perhaps some 40 years,that the early chapters of Genesis contain a lot of myth and symbolism. It was many years ago that as a committed ‘Christian’ I came to the conclusion that I was not an Evangelical. As I’ve said on my blog, I have far more empathy with some atheists than I do with those ‘Christians’ who think they have all the answers.

    • ignorantianescia says:

      That’s very interesting. Do you mind if I ask as what kind of Christian you identify yourself?

      • Peter says:

        That’s a question I’ve never been asked before. I have sometimes wondered whether I should call myself a Christian because many fundamentalists and some evangelicals would consider me to be a heretic.
        If you would like to know more why not have a look at my blog,

  5. Justin Riddell says:

    2Ti 3:16 All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness:
    2Ti 3:17 That the man of God may be perfect, throughly furnished unto all good works.
    —>2Sa 23:2 The Spirit of the LORD spake by me, and his word was in my tongue.

    —>1Ki 22:24 But Zedekiah the son of Chenaanah went near, and smote Micaiah on the cheek, and said, Which way went the Spirit of the LORD from me to speak unto thee?

    —>2Ch 20:14 Then upon Jahaziel the son of Zechariah, the son of Benaiah, the son of Jeiel, the son of Mattaniah, a Levite of the sons of Asaph, came the Spirit of the LORD in the midst of the congregation;

    —>Luk 24:44 And he said unto them, These are the words which I spake unto you, while I was yet with you, that all things must be fulfilled, which were written in the law of Moses, and in the prophets, and in the psalms, concerning me.

    —>Luk 24:45 Then opened he their understanding, that they might understand the scriptures,

    —>2Pe 1:21 For the prophecy came not in old time by the will of man: but holy men of God spake as they were moved by the Holy Ghost.

    Last verse explains it all very clearly. Holy men of God spake as they were moved by the Holy Ghost. One of the issues of today is with Christians picking and choosing portions of the Bible to believe. That’s NOT having Faith. It’s not myth, your just not willing to believe, UNLESS it’s on your terms. Which is never believing in the first place, in all truth. I know this is a touchy subject, but I know how it feels to WANT to believe, but never 100% truly believing. You think you have the Holy Ghost inside of you, because you have no idea what it’s like to have it in the first place. You deceive yourself into believing a lie. Well, I had been living that lie for a LONG TIME, but now that I know what it TRULY feels like to have the Holy Ghost inside of me. I realize how LOST I truly was.

    You want to know what the Holy Ghost feels like inside of you? You are given a strength you never had, you understand things you never thought you could. You love people in spite of themselves, you want to earnestly seek the fruits of the Spirit. You don’t ever want to let the LORD down because you love Him. You realize just how sinful you truly are. But after each and every failure you get back up and continue in your walk with him. The sins which used to rule over you no longer have their strength. It’s a feeling you NEVER want to lose. Courage / Understanding / Wisdom / Guidance / all of which are Gifts. Nothing good comes from us, but with the Holy Spirit inside of us, working through us we go onto good works.

    God has given me a craving for his WORD, I don’t ever want to stop reading the Bible. I learn new things which he shows me each and every day. One thing most Christians today don’t realize is the importance of repentance from our old lives. Accepting Jesus Christ into your lives is not just a leap of FAITH, it is a COMPLETE lifestyle change. You don’t just accept Him and go back to your old lives, if that’s the case you never truly believed. Don’t take this as a personal attack. I only say this because sometimes we have to be shaken up (tough love) to realize how far gone we were/are.

    The Holy Spirit is a raging fire inside of me, and trust me, you will know when you have it. God Bless you all!

    • UMMM, so what does that have to do with the interpretation of 2 timothy 3:16-17? And what does inspiration and the interpretation of inspiration?

      I appreciate ANY and ALL comments, but for just general comments I would recommend the question and comments section or the about section. or the so it begins post

Leave a Reply

