BitterSweet Musings

image

First I would like to say, this is actually a picture of my book shelf.  So anybody can see I actually have a bunch of Christian writings and a bunch of bibles on the bottom shelf.  I own somewhere around 30 bibles, but about 8-9 are small hand out bibles for when we went door-to-door evangelizing.  I am really not sure how I feel about spending so much money on this material.

So far in my de-conversion I’ve told my pastor, my wife, and the elders at the church.  I do actually want to tell a few more people, but I can tell my wife is not comfortable with that notion.  So I guess I’ll hold off a while, before I spread my wings.

When I told the kids last week, that I was stepping down from leadership, most of them took it well, there were about two or three from the look on their face you can tell were really upset.  My heart goes out to them, and will always remember the fun times.

I do still go to church, but only on Sunday Mornings.  Kind of like a peace treaty, between Me and the Misses.

Since I have stepped down from all leadership & teaching roles at the church.  It is a little different, because the elders who know, it is self-evident they are not completely comfortable talking to me just yet.  And likewise on my part too; especially the ones I don’t have as much of a relationship with.  However for those who don’t know, it’s generally the same treatment.  I have agreed to read Case for Christ by Lee Strobel, which was recommended by one of the elders.  I think I will get Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis, because not only did the pastor recommend it, but also many people on the blogosphere have also recommended it too me.

I have started to read Why I became an Atheist? By John Luftus, but that is a very wordy book, so it will take me some time to get through it.

In regards to how my wife is taking everything, I would say it is still a work in process.  She still prays for me and prays that become saved and a believer.

Lastly, I am no longer going by the blog name biblereader, but now M.Rodriguez
About M. Rodriguez

When I first received Christ salvation, I made it a priority to read the whole bible and I did. But it was the Bible that made me question my faith. For I found it flawed and lacking. Due to this I launched a personal inquiry/investigation into my faith, and ultimately realized that the Christian God of the Bible was indeed man-made. Now I Blog about those findings and life after Christ.
This entry was posted in bible, church, Free-Thought, life, message and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to BitterSweet Musings

  1. exrelayman says:

    There is an old testament writing somewhere to the effect that the first argument is very convincing until you hear the second argument. In regards to the apologetic books mentioned in this post, Ebonmusings:
    http://www.ebonmusings.org/atheism/apologetics.html
    has critiques of both. Deacon Duncan here:
    http://blog.evangelicalrealism.com/2010/07/04/xfiles-the-myth-of-mere-christianity/
    begins a lengthy series of posts dealing with Mere Christianity exhaustively. There is interchange in the comments that is also of value.

    As per email sent to you, Remsberg, Wheless, Gauvin, Ingersoll (especially Some Mistakes of Moses and The Bible) are all free at internet infidels. These writings old, but equally as powerful as contemporary writing. Sorry to flood you with reading materials, but these are indeed wonderful. One can and must make decisions without reading every possible item dealing with the topic, because books and blogs are being produced faster than one person can read them, and there is a life to live besides reading and agonizing over them.

    I really weary of apologists arguers insisting that this or that one apologetics book will change my mind. If that were the case, why isn’t the Bible the one book that would change my mind? God’s (purported) own book should persuade any reader of it, no?

    • M. Rodriguez says:

      thats for the email. And the links to the apologetic book reviews. Thanks

      But I am not too worried about the apologetic books, I am more reading them so I can say I read them. If the bible is what lead me to initially doubt, what makes people think a bible that is about the bible will lead me back.

      Actually considered reading both authors works early on in the doubting process, but from what I read on book reviews, they wouldn’t answer the general questions on biblical inerrancy. [And I know mere Christianity talks more about morality, which i think is mostly a moot point because in my opinion morality is not proof of God] and [lee strobel’s work deal with more interviewing scholars in the field, that I would probably enjoy more and get more out of] I am already familiar with the most Basic apologetic arguments because I’ve given some of the rhetorical rebuttals in my arguments when trying to witness to non-believers.

  2. exrelayman says:

    Dagnabbit, I forgot something! If you use Firefox or Chrome, there is an extension called clearly that makes the text easier to read at Deacon Duncan’s site. Otherwise, as I zoom the text to a size suitable to my old eyes, the article becomes annoyingly narrow.

  3. I love this blog, i read it all the time 🙂 i am a lifelong atheist (give or take the first 8 years) and to see someone as an adult coming out of the other side of religion and spreading their wings is amazing 🙂

    • M. Rodriguez says:

      I’m really glad you like it. At this time this my only way I can truely express myself, because getting into the conversations with the wife sometimes can be a lil tense and at times argumentive. but thanks for coming by.

      I just realized that i’m not following your blog, but I will surely at you to my reader feed later on today.

  4. Michael says:

    Thanks for commenting on my blog. If I could recommend a book for you to read, I would recommend “God Is Not Great: How Religion Poisons Everything” by Christopher Hitchens. Not sure how many people have told you about that book, but it does have its own view from a unique guy.

    If you need help with your deconversion or have any questions, I can give you my personal email address. Hope the best for you.

    • M. Rodriguez says:

      I have heard alot about his book, in fact from what I have heard/read that book has lead to a few pastors de-converting from the faith.

      However right now, I am in the middle of reading Case for Christ by Lee strobel, I really want to read God Delusion by Richard dawkins, but it seems reading anyother books at this time will have to be put on a hiatus.

Leave a Reply

