Why I Am An Atheist (and why I feel it’s so important)

I came across this post this morning, and let me just say it flat out blew me away.

About M. Rodriguez

When I first received Christ salvation, I made it a priority to read the whole bible and I did. But it was the Bible that made me question my faith. For I found it flawed and lacking. Due to this I launched a personal inquiry/investigation into my faith, and ultimately realized that the Christian God of the Bible was indeed man-made. Now I Blog about those findings and life after Christ.
This entry was posted in atheist, christian fraud, church, emotions, life, religion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why I Am An Atheist (and why I feel it’s so important)

  1. oh my goodness! that was a sad thing to read but of course also makes so much sense as well. thanks for the post. x

  2. unklee says:

    It is indeed a sad story BR. But millions of people in the former communist countries could tell similarly sad stories of life under an atheistic regime. And of course, you could say that it wasn’t the atheism that was bad but the people – and I could say the same about the church.

    In the end, these stories don’t prove what is claimed, but merely that people are sometimes wonderful but unfortunately sometimes awful – whether they are believers or unbelievers. Yes, the believers ought to be better, I must admit, but the facts are that they are generally better. Studies show that believers generally have better physical and emotional health, less anti-social and harmful behaviour, and contribute more to society (see Faith and wellbeing.

    I don’t think our belief or unbelief should be based on what works as much as on what is true, but if you are going to quote the behaviour of people as a reason for disbelief, then the facts say you should return to belief.

  3. ok…can we please stop equating communism with atheism. I know Christians that are communists and atheists that are capitalists. The comparison is an unfair one. Holding atheists accountable for Lenin’s Russia would be like equating modern Evangelicals with Hong Xiquan’s China.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hong_Xiuquan
    http://www.amazon.com/Gods-Chinese-Son-Taiping-Heavenly/dp/0393315568

  4. ignorantianescia says:

    But UnkleE wasn’t equating communism with atheism at all, he was only pointing out that under communistic, state-atheistic governments people suffered as well. And what he definitely did not do was blaming atheists for communist crimes.

Leave a Reply

