Skepticurus De-Conversion Letter

Another fellow blogger de-converting also seeking advice.  It kind of reminded me of the anxiety of when I told my wife and pastor that I was no longer a believer.   Thought I share his story.

skepticurus

I’m quite emotional right now. I’m on the edge of doing something that can’t be taken back. I feel like I have to do this, but at the same time it might make my life very difficult for the forseable future. Below is a letter to my mother, which I have yet to send her. In it I tell her for the first time that I am an atheist. I’d be glad for any support or advice about coming out as an atheist. Is it better to plan and agonize over it, or do it quick like a band-aid? Once I work up the courage to tell her, I’ll update you with the results.

Hi mom. There’s something I’ve been needing to tell you. I’ve thought for a long time about the perfect way to phrase this so that it wouldn’t be a big deal, but I finally realized there…

View original post 863 more words

About M. Rodriguez

When I first received Christ salvation, I made it a priority to read the whole bible and I did. But it was the Bible that made me question my faith. For I found it flawed and lacking. Due to this I launched a personal inquiry/investigation into my faith, and ultimately realized that the Christian God of the Bible was indeed man-made. Now I Blog about those findings and life after Christ.
This entry was posted in religion. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Skepticurus De-Conversion Letter

  1. Don Hartness says:

    Although I feel for the blogger you cite here, what drew me back to your blog was your previous post, for a wife is closer than a mother. To my dismay, comments were closed on that post; otherwise, I would have posted some encouraging words for your wife to read that may have helped her, and you, as I believe there is a healthier way for her to approach this situation.

    I have a question.

    When I first read your bio underneath your posts after being introduced to your blog, I sensed an open question and challenge about the validity of Christianity and its claims. I sensed that, although you rejected many of the theological underpinnings of the Christian faith, that you were grappling with questions pertaining to what was left to hold onto. As an example, to say that one does not believe in the Christian presentation of who or what God is is quite different than saying there is no God whatsoever.

    However, I’m now beginning to sense from your posts that the questions are not open anymore. It seems that your mind is settled on the matter, that you have rejected all belief in any God, and that this blog is now dedicated to chronicling the journey after this decision. Is this true?

    If the answer is apparent from some of your recent blog posts, then you’ll have to forgive me for being new and not having the time to read.

    • M. Rodriguez says:

      I do apologize about that, you are the second person to have made that complaint. I really do need to update my about section, It is out of date, and does not accurately reflect my situation nor my beliefs. (I will try to update it in the next week or so. )

      Let me give you a little background. You may notice some people may refer to me as BR or BibleReader in the comments. Thats because when I first started the blog as a christian of August of 2011 last year, I went by that blog name for confidentiality purposes. Here is a link to my first post, if you read it, you can see the tone of that post is much more christian in nature of that of a believer. https://bittersweetend.wordpress.com/2011/07/29/so-it-begins/

      Now for the months of Aug 2011 to about Mid/late May 2012. I blogged on my doubts and questions of inerrancy of the bible. And general other things. I held the bible as true, and was a basis for me in all rationality and logic. I assumed it was true, and took that perspective in my search for truth. https://bittersweetend.wordpress.com/2011/10/11/in-my-quest-for-truth/

      It was in this post https://bittersweetend.wordpress.com/2012/06/14/facing-the-truth/ That I finally had the face the realisation and truth, that I could no longer honestly and sincerly from my heart confess and belief that christianity was true. I tried to find a common ground to base my faith off of. But I couldn’t, without the bible all of the bible and christianity looked and seemed fallacious.

      I finally told my wife the first week of July. https://bittersweetend.wordpress.com/2012/06/28/need-advice/

      So this is the story in a nutshell

      • Don Hartness says:

        No, no complaint and you do not need to apologize in any way, as my own blog has laid fallow for sometime, and I understand the difficulties in updating, especially when one is making a journey and whose beliefs are shifting during that journey.

        This is good to know. There are those Christians who seem to believe that it is their God-given mission to inform an atheist as to how wrong they are. Besides often looking foolish, their arguments are also weak. I do believe there is a valid position for faith, but the arguments I would present are not a direct challenge to an atheist’s arguments, nor are they useful for anyone that has made up their mind on the matter. I would present some of them here if you were still sitting on the fence. But if you have fully de-converted, then I would only respond if I can some day find the time to give this topic the diligence and energy it demands.

        Thanks for clarifying. I wish you the best and if I can be of service to you in the future, you know where to find me. 🙂

    • M. Rodriguez says:

      If you would like to here my-deconversion in podcast form. Just follow the link here…http://www.amatterofdoubt.com/podcasts/ep-38-the-bittersweet-end-taking-a-scalpel-to-faith/

      The podcast is a lil more personal than I have been on my blog. .

  2. Pingback: Quick Update | skepticurus

  3. Walter Iles says:

    I like looking at your articles, Skepticurus De-Conversion Letter | The BitterSweet End has been added to my favorites in firefox.

Leave a Reply

