The Christian Delusion

{A Word of Caution, this video does have cursing, offensive, and fowl language.}

I remember watching this video by Richard Carrier and being struck with the premise that Carrier calls Christianity a delusion.  I remember thinking that was a very strong accusation; until Carrier actually explained what a Delusion is and I Googled the definition of what a Delusion is.

    • A delusion is a belief held with strong conviction despite superior evidence to the contrary.
    • A fixed false belief that is resistant to reason or confrontation with actual fact: a paranoid delusion.
    • A systematized delusion is a group of delusions organized around a common theme.
    • In Psychiatry it is a belief held in the face of evidence to the contrary, that is resistant to all reason.

As Sam Harris puts it, “While believing strongly, without evidence, is considered a mark of madness or stupidity in any other area of our lives, faith in God still holds immense prestige in our society.  Religion is the one area of our discourse where it is considered noble to pretend to be certain about things no human being could possibly be certain about.

Related Articles

About M. Rodriguez

When I first received Christ salvation, I made it a priority to read the whole bible and I did. But it was the Bible that made me question my faith. For I found it flawed and lacking. Due to this I launched a personal inquiry/investigation into my faith, and ultimately realized that the Christian God of the Bible was indeed man-made. Now I Blog about those findings and life after Christ.
This entry was posted in atheist vs christian, bible, christ, christian fraud, deceived, emotions, jesus, jesus the messiah, logic, messiah, religion, youtube and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Christian Delusion

  1. unkleE says:

    Hi Marcus. It is interesting, but ignores one thing.

    It is all opinion.

    If a delusion is “a belief held with strong conviction despite superior evidence to the contrary” then Ricard Carrier thinks I am deluded and I think he is. For, strange as it may seem, I believe the evidence points to christianity being true and atheism being false. Imagine that! : )

    So we can trade delusion epithets, Richard and I, if that would help, but I don’t think so. I think it is better simply to say that he thinks I am wrong and I think he is wrong.

    As for Sam Harris’ statement: “Religion is the one area of our discourse where it is considered noble to pretend to be certain about things no human being could possibly be certain about”, I wonder whether he is more certain about that than I am about what I believe? I don’t know any christians who claim absolute evidential certainty about their belief, for christianity is a belief based on evidence but also requiring faith.

    But I guess calling christians names like “delusional” might make atheists feel better about the fact that we stubbornly continue to believe the evidence points in a different direction than they do. It may even help them avoid questioning whether their certainty is well-founded! Best wishes.

    • Arkenaten says:

      “But I guess calling christians names like “delusional” might make atheists feel better about the fact that we stubbornly continue to believe the evidence points in a different direction than they do. It may even help them avoid questioning whether their certainty is well-founded! Best wishes.”

      No, it doesn’t make atheists feel better at all, and Christians are wont to be the first on the soapbox condemning non believers to hell.
      Your comments like so many other Christians who write on the internet, have a condescending air about them.

      Our certainty IS well-founded because most of us base it on your scripture!
      Haven’t you realized this yet?

      As a matter of fact, most atheists – and I include myself here – are quite content for you to believe what you want. It is your life and your right.
      What we vehemently object to is people like you stating that it is fact, based on your evidence at hand.
      We object vehemently that you will pass this belief onto children and inculcate them with and tell them it is fact.
      We object vehemently that many of you wish to have this belief system incorporated into schools, and fringe elements of your faith also want Creationism taught as fact.
      We object that it finds its way into such innocuous things as National Anthems.
      There are Christians and Muslims who believe their scripture to be inerrant and deign to pass this erroneous belief on to others., notably children and the emotionally disturbed.
      We vehemently object to certain religions hiding or attempting to hide or whitewash the atrocities perpetrated i n the name of their belief/religion/god-and are STILL doing it.
      This, among other things, is what atheists object to.
      In fact, if religious people kept their beliefs to themselves, did not proselytize and their religious institutions were subject to the same laws as the rest of society then most atheists, including myself, would pretty much say nothing at all.

    • M. Rodriguez says:

      I remember watching this video right after I de-converted. I remember when watching the first half of the video, I thought that it was unnessarily offensive. But as I got into the second half of the video, when he started speaking more academicaly, he pointed the definition of a delusion, and I couldn’t help but think and feel how accurate he was in saying that part. Because how many times do christians say that it is not all intelleuctual, that we need to believe by faith, not by sight. (Faith by the hebrews 11, that we believe by firm conviction and not evidence.) And even the biblical definition of faith, supports the academic and psychiatric defintion of delusion.

      Now this is not to say there is no absolute evidence for christianity, but when I evaluated all the claims for belief in my personal (spiritual) journey. I came to find all the previous claims for evidence and proof for christianity were really just talking points for a sunday sermon.

      ………………….

      remember for me I tried to find that balance between reason and faith. In fact my tagline motto for the blog for the longest was………… A christian struggle and journey into faith and doubt to find a reasonable faith . For me I found that that the balance for faith was reason, to a certain degree actually contradictory. (I’ll probably do a post on that topic one day, to further elaborate, but i’ll leave it at that.)

      Really When I do use the term delusion, in conversation, I’m not trying to be purposefully insulting or mean, but I find that the definition of delusion and belief and faith, match all to well with christianity.

  2. Arkenaten says:

    Marcus….
    just a question, if I may.
    I note you cautioned about fowl language, but i listened to the whole video and not once did Carrier make a single ‘cluck’ or sound like a chicken at all. Maybe the title should have read foul? Just asking.
    🙂

  3. Pingback: Evangelical Atheism | The BitterSweet End

  4. Pingback: Top Atheist and Skeptic Scholars | The BitterSweet End

  5. Pingback: I NEVER lost my faith; (A Fleeting Moment of Realization) | The BitterSweet End

  6. Pingback: I NEVER lost my faith; (A Fleeting Moment of Realization) | The BitterSweet End

Leave a Reply

