Just another atheist Questionaire

This will probably be my last questionnaire post, I like doing them, because they are fun, simple, and easy to do.  But they don’t serve the true purpose of the blog, which is too examine and evaluate the belief in the Christian God.  This questionnaire I found on the Ballon Man Blog.

1. What would you need in order to become a believer?

Probably first a definition of which God I would be believing in.  And then evidence of that God’s existence.  But if we are talking about the God of the Bible, then I would say nothing considering, I’ve studied Christianity and the bible enough to be able to say confidently that it is a man-made religion just like all the others. 

2. Why are you an atheist?

I would say the Bible turned me into an atheist. “A book that changed me? The Bible. It turned me into an Atheist.”Andy Hamilton

However, after talking to my wife, I think the term non-theist is probably the most accurate definition of my position. Nontheism by definition is a term that covers a range of both religious and nonreligious[ attitudes characterized by the absence or rejection of theism or any belief in a personal god(s).

3. Why do you think a belief in deity has permeated almost every society and culture since the dawn of mankind?

God was man’s first attempt at science and explaining things.  When man did not understand earthquakes and tectonics plates; it was God.  When man did not understand solar eclipses and the lunar cycle; it was God.  We have now evolved our thinking to include reasoning into our logic.  So that our reasoning for understanding how the world works is not God, but let’s investigate to truly find out how this thing works.  In that we look for scientific answers and not religious ones.  I actually like the way Albert Einstein articulated it. 

Einstein

4. Why does existentialism make sense to you?

It actually doesn’t make sense to me because from my understanding on the topic, is that existentialism was birthed out of the precepts of Christianity through Christian Theologian Søren Kierkegaard (1813–1855), who is considered the father of existentialism.

5. Of either faith, Islam or Christianity, which of these two makes the most sense to you? You must pick one.

Neither, I know enough about the bible, that any Abrahamic religion based off the bible is man-made.

6. Have you ever, even for a moment, believed in a God(s)?

Yes, just a few months ago.

7. If you die as an atheist are you prepared to go to hell?

No —–I would be completely and utterly shocked.  It would be like for a Christian; if you die are you prepared to be wrong, and see that God was really Pee-Wee Herman.  It would be a complete and utter shock, you wouldn’t know what to say or react.  That’s how I feel about the situation.  

 8. Morality seems to change with the times in the atheist community. Why are morals so subjective within the atheist community?

Just like in any community (I.E. The Christian Community) We change with the times.

9. Why, if you are an atheist, do you spend so much time speaking about religion (especially the christian faith?)

Because I am surrounded by it.  I think if religion in general did not play such a large role in my everyday life, then I probably would not have a blog.

10. Why does so many of your interests (art, and entertainment) center around human suffering and tragedy? Does this reflect an inner turmoil because of the absence of god?

Actually, my interests don’t.  I don’t find human suffering or tragedy funny or entertaining.  To me human suffering and tragedy is disheartening, everybody who knows me, knows that.

11. If Jesus were physically alive today, and preaching the same message as he did before, would you accept his teaching as being valid and viable to our community and your own personal life?

Honestly I don’t know.  His teachings would be useful, but not original.  In the end unless he performs a genuine miracle, he is just another man, with a couple good sayings.  In my mind his teachings would not surpass those works of Mother Teresa, Martin Luther King, Ghandi, Leo Tolstey, Nelson Mendela, Harriet Tubman, or Mahavira/Prince Vardhaman.  It’s not just being a great moral teacher, but also great moral actions that influenced and changed culture & societies.  And it seems to be the legend of Jesus is more popular than the historicity of Jesus.

Also I would say as great as some of his teachings were, Jesus failed in the sense that not all his teachings were crystal clear.

12. Considering all the opinions you express about the dangers of religion and the world’s problems, why don’t you offer any solutions to the problems on a specific level?

Actually I think dealing with reality as it is, is the best solution.  It is only when we accept our reality and the problems of this reality, can we truly focus on solving the problems of this world.  Unfortunately, we live in a world, where the majority of people believe where an invisible being will fix their problems and the world problems.   

Other Atheist Questionaires

About M. Rodriguez

When I first received Christ salvation, I made it a priority to read the whole bible and I did. But it was the Bible that made me question my faith. For I found it flawed and lacking. Due to this I launched a personal inquiry/investigation into my faith, and ultimately realized that the Christian God of the Bible was indeed man-made. Now I Blog about those findings and life after Christ.
This entry was posted in atheism, atheist, belief, bible, contradiction, Free-Thought, god, history, purpose, quote, religion, unbelief and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Just another atheist Questionaire

  1. Dvd Bach says:

    Thanks for posting these; I love being tested on what I believe. The opinions offered below are mine alone and should not be extrapolated to all atheists:

    “What would you need in order to become a believer?”
    Evidence. If compelling evidence can be provided for the existence of any god, I’ll be the first one to convert.

    “Why are you an atheist?”
    I was born that way. I briefly experimented with religion before realizing that none of it made sense without evidence.

    “Why do you think a belief in deity has permeated almost every society and culture since the dawn of mankind?”
    Because it fulfills a fundamental need to feel loved and protected from the unknown.

    “Why does existentialism make sense to you?”
    False premise; I’m not even sure I understand what existentialism is. Looking it up… The Penguin English Dictionary defines it as: a philosophical movement characterized by enquiry into human beings’ experience of themselves in relation to the world, esp with reference to their freedom, responsibility, and isolation. Well, why wouldn’t we want to understand our own experience? Isn’t that essentially what attracts people to religion as well?

    “Of either faith, Islam or Christianity, which of these two makes the most sense to you? You must pick one.”
    I think Islam has a far more honest view of an omnipotent god. This is the almighty creator of the universe and ultimate judge of your eternal soul; you don’t have a “personal relationship” with it! You throw yourself on the ground before it and beg it not to annihilate you with a thought!

    “Have you ever, even for a moment, believed in a God(s)?”
    Yes, I was a practicing Wiccan for a number of years. However, I discovered that it had exactly the same amount of support in evidence as any other religion: zero.

    “If you die as an atheist are you prepared to go to hell?”
    Given that I don’t believe in hell, no.

    “Morality seems to change with the times in the atheist community. Why are morals so subjective within the atheist community?”
    That’s true of everyone, not just atheists. The Bible was once used to justify holding Africans as slaves; in the 1960’s, the Bible was a big motivator in the civil rights movement. Morality changes with the times; that’s just a fact.

    “Why, if you are an atheist, do you spend so much time speaking about religion (especially the christian faith?)”
    Because Christian activists continually push for special treatment under the law for their religion. If Christians remained silent, so would I.

    “Why does so many of your interests (art, and entertainment) center around human suffering and tragedy? Does this reflect an inner turmoil because of the absence of god?”
    False premise. I don’t think I’m any more into suffering and tragedy in art than any religious person.

    “If Jesus were physically alive today, and preaching the same message as he did before, would you accept his teaching as being valid and viable to our community and your own personal life?”
    No, because I believe that vicarious forgiveness is immoral. The idea that I could wrong you and SOMEONE ELSE could forgive me for that, whether you do or not, is reprehensible.

    “Considering all the opinions you express about the dangers of religion and the world’s problems, why don’t you offer any solutions to the problems on a specific level?”
    I really don’t think that religion is dangerous. I don’t think it makes any sense to believe something on faith (that is, without evidence), but if you want to, be my guest. I’ll happily stand up for your right to do so.

    • Arkenaten says:

      “I really don’t think that religion is dangerous. I don’t think it makes any sense to believe something on faith (that is, without evidence), but if you want to, be my guest. I’ll happily stand up for your right to do so.”
      I would venture that you haven’t thought this statement through to its conclusion, and based on history and what is happening all around yo I think you ill find that it IS dangerous.
      Maybe you were leaning more towards ordinary liberal Christianiy?

      Has 9/11 slipped form the memory so easily?

      Are you immune to the continual pushing from Creationists to have this nonsense taught in schools?

      Are you unaware of how insidious god belief creeps into many facets of society, even into seemingly innocuous things like National Anthems?
      All of the above are ‘everyday’ stuff. No conspiracy nonsense or doomsday diatribe.

      Maybe you should reconsider, hmmm?

  2. Dvd Bach says:

    I think religious extremists are dangerous, but I don’t think that danger is inherent to religion. Most religious people don’t have that psychotic level of devotion to it.

    • Arkenaten says:

      Ah, but if the Creationist for example, manage to plant their nonsense in schools will the likes of William Lane Craig – who is also a dick head of note -stand up and protest?

      It is because most folk are not extreme that the wackos manage to gain ground. Liberal theology is a well-spring for extremists. After all ,extremism starts from within the ordinary and there are enough examples of what can happen when the maniacs have their fingers on the metaphorical trigger.

      Islam, for example, gained its place in the theological sunshine not by Mohammed asking politely.

      The states have already had a headcase president who pandered to things theological
      before deciding to begin a war.

      Most religious people like folk in general are apathetic in this regard.
      How you going to feel if ever your kid comes home from school believing the earth is only 6000 years old?

      • Dvd Bach says:

        I don’t have kids, but your point is taken.

        I agree with you to an extent, but what do you do about it? Ban people from practicing religion? I would stand with every Christian in the country to oppose you if that’s what you set out to do. If you’re suggestion is that we should educate people about why it’s not a good idea to hold irrational faith-based beliefs, then I agree with you completely.

    • Arkenaten says:

      Ban, no, of course not.
      But do not allow any religion to be taught in schools. Period.
      Remove all references to any and all gods from public literature and public institutions that promote such ideas. .
      Eventually, the idea of baptism should be looked at. Religious folk are as keen on children’s rights as non believers, therefore baptism should only be allowed when the individual; has reached adulthood.
      Extreme? Ask any de convertee and see what they say!

      • Dvd Bach says:

        Again, I only agree with you to a point. The only thing I would dispute is teaching the Bible is schools. It does have literary and artistic value; of course I agree that it shouldn’t be taught as fact.

      • M. Rodriguez says:

        Actually I would disagree here with ark on banning religion in school. I would say teach it. Teach them all. Teach all the creation stories. And the history and origins of each religion and how each has evolved. It is from there can educated person come to the conclusion that all religions are man-made.

    • Arkenaten says:

      The Bible, artistic? Have you read it? Cover to Cover!
      Well, one man’s meat and all that.

      As for the other stuff. Well, maybe most folk’s reluctance to interfere in the current status quo is influenced by their Christian Western Upbringing.
      Though you might find you a very different reaction from anyone who has had any sort of unfortunate incident with Christianity, and there are PLENTY such unfortunate people writing in blogland.

  3. Dvd Bach says:

    If you don’t believe that Christian beliefs have served as the basis for a tremendous amount of truly beautiful art, literature and music throughout the history of western civilization, then there’s nothing I can say that’s going to convince you of that.

    • Arkenaten says:

      Oh, you are right re: art and music..and even architecture. But the price paid?
      And who’s to say there wouldn’t have been just as good art, music, literature etc without religion?

  4. Arkenaten says:

    “Actually I would disagree here with ark on banning religion in school. I would say teach it. Teach them all. Teach all the creation stories. And the history and origins of each religion and how each has evolved. It is from there can educated person come to the conclusion that all religions are man-made.”
    Fair enough. When put like this , I agree. It must be taught without any allusions to faith or supposed truth and presented in an unemotional fashion.
    And any religious teacher must be agnostic or atheist. 😉

    • M. Rodriguez says:

      when taught like that, in my opinion its impossible to teach faith and ignore the academic and historic side of things.

      It’s like the saying goes, give a man one religious book, he will be a devote follower for life. Give him two, he will be done in an hour.

Leave a Reply

