An Interesting Fact

A while I back came across a post on the net about the top philanthropist/charitable givers of 2012.  It was a list of the top 50 generous charitable givers in the country (USA).  And what caught my eye on the list were the top two names.

1. Warren Buffett, Donated 3.1 Billion Dollars…….AGNOSTIC

2. Mark Zuckerberg, Donated 498.8 Million Dollars……ATHEIST

I just found it so interesting that the top two people in this country with a heart for giving are both non-believers and non-christians.

About M. Rodriguez

When I first received Christ salvation, I made it a priority to read the whole bible and I did. But it was the Bible that made me question my faith. For I found it flawed and lacking. Due to this I launched a personal inquiry/investigation into my faith, and ultimately realized that the Christian God of the Bible was indeed man-made. Now I Blog about those findings and life after Christ.
This entry was posted in agnostic, atheist, unbelief and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An Interesting Fact

  1. unkleE says:

    It might have more to do with the fact that they’re among the richest. If you really want to know about this, you need to look a proper research, not a random factoid. And research show that believers are far more generous than unbelievers. Would you like to see the references?

    • M. Rodriguez says:

      Yeah I’ve seen those references, the key difference between the different studies is the one that include church giving. Those that include tithes and offering, have christian higher, those that don’t have non-believers highers

  2. unkleE says:

    Marcus, I’ll show you my studies if you show me yours! : )

    1. Arthur C. Brooks, a professor at Syracuse University found that conservatives gave more to charity than liberals (even though they earn slightly less), and that religion was one of the two main influences on charitable behaviour. In this report on the same study, Brooks says:

    “The religious Americans are more likely to give to every kind of cause and charity, including explicitly non-religious charities.”

    2. The Science on Religion blog reports a more recent university study, which found:

    “People who regularly attend religious services give more to religious and secular charities ….. religious people give as much to secular charities as practically conscious secular people plus they give to religious charities. In terms of amount, religious people wind up giving more.”

    To explain this a little, religious people give as much to secular charities as do secular people who are involved in secular, community or political organisations, and both give more than non-involved secular people. So the religious overall give more to secular charities than do the irreligious, plus they give to religious organisations as well.

    3. Surveys by the Barna Group found religious people gave 7.5 times more than those who self-identified as atheist or agnostic, and twice as much when church based giving was removed.

    4. This study by University sociologists found much the same.

    5. This report on a study by The Chronicle of Philanthropy shows that religious states give more to charity than less religious states, but take away church giving and the non-religious states give more, as you have said.

    6. A book by Robert Putnam of Harvard University said that religious people give more, volunteer more and are better citizens than non-religious.

    7. These were all US studies, but this UK study shows the same – religious people donated more than double what non-religious donated, and only 30% of religious people donated to religious causes.

    Those studies are all consistent – all show greater giving by religious people, and all but one show that is true even for secular charities only.

    What studies have you got to share?

    • vanquishedangel says:

      I am not the author but in truth you cant count religious charities, very little of that money goes to where it is promised. When I donated my money I had received a government Catalog with tons and tons of charities listed (all charities listed that posses a tax exempt number) and in truth almost all the ones with a lower percentage were christian religious charities. The ones on the top with the highest percentage of donated money actually making it to where it was going was environmental charities and the Mormons.

      I understand only a little about how this came to be but as I understand it the Mormons believe that if you donate $100.00 to children in Africa, the cost to get it there does NOT come out of the donations.

      I am not Mormon or any other group so to speak, I donate time, I also bought gifts for children I didn’t know on Christmas, I donated to DAV, and a few others myself. Not of this was counted on my taxes therefore I got no tax break for it. Another words none of my donations were counted and this is the way I believe true donations are done.

Leave a Reply

