Going to Church as an Atheist

Three weeks ago, the wife and I were running Very late to church, so she suggested we go visit another church that was closer and I knew the pastor who was over it, because I use to attend church with him 6 years ago before he got his own church.  And I got so mentally distraught at the thought of going to visit his church, because he is extremely charismatic.  (Speaking in Tongues, Prophesying, Screaming, Shouting, Laying Hands on people.)  Just the thought of going into that environment got me sweating, heart-racing and unnerved.

 

So as an unbelieving atheist going to church at times can very emotionally draining.

This past week when my wife and I were talking about which Church to visit for Easter.  (Because it has been part of our tradition for the last few years to go visit another church on Easter.)  I told her my feelings on going to church and how much times it had really stressed me out.  Just the thought of going to church on Sundays sometimes gets my nerves going, and my heart racing.  It really does affect my psychological and mental health at times.  Which is a far stretch from a year ago, when going to church on Wednesday and Sundays were a stress reliever for me and such a relaxing event.  But those days are no longer.

So When I came across this post on the Belief in People Blog, it really warmed my spirits, because it was a post I could truly relate to, because ever since I have been on the outside of Christianity, I feel like an intruder/enemy to the all Christian Sunday club.

About M. Rodriguez

When I first received Christ salvation, I made it a priority to read the whole bible and I did. But it was the Bible that made me question my faith. For I found it flawed and lacking. Due to this I launched a personal inquiry/investigation into my faith, and ultimately realized that the Christian God of the Bible was indeed man-made. Now I Blog about those findings and life after Christ.
This entry was posted in atheist, atheist vs christian, church, emotions, human nature, life, Philosophy for Life, purpose, religion and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Going to Church as an Atheist

  1. The fact is, I’m not going to church. It’s not my scene, I’m just not into it. However, the church my son attended was one that I’ve been to several times throughout my life and it’s run by a family who I know well enough to feel comfortable with my son going there even without firsthand knowledge of the exact content. This assumption ended up being a good one – the sermon (related to me by my mom, an agnostic who herself decided to attend church along with my son for the first time in a very very long time) was a history lesson about Martin Luther and the reformation. My son enjoyed the informative parts and thought the music was boring. Sounded about right to me.

Leave a Reply

