Live everyday like you are Dying

Live everyday like you are dying,”  were the words my co-worker adjacent to me said to me.  It initially caught me off guard and startled me, because I did not know how to react or digest it.

In Christianity, there is alot of comfort in death, there is alot of consolation in the idea that your loved ones are in a better place, and those morally deplorable and despicable ones are not.  However for the atheist, the idea of nothing is not always the most comforting thought for everyone.

And in facing this new reality and oncoming death,  What I have learned in my opinion that I should not fear what we are all expecting but I should be prepared to embrace it, cause like my coworker said, I should live everyday like I am dying, embracing every moment like it could be last, and every person, like it could be our last good-bye.  However coming from that mindset we must face the reality and the present of death as Sam Harris puts it.

As a former believer, living is not really living -it is preparing for your second life after death.  So as a Christian you/we might sometimes have a habit of talking and think alot about death, because there is alot of anticipation & anxiety surrounding death.   Because of this highly anticipated & expected gift in that in death we will receive a reward for our earthly servitude, eternal life in heaven.  Hence in that mindset there is a focus of anxiety surrounding the awaiting of death for the believer, (maybe that’s why it is talked and focused on so much in the church.)

The idea of living & dying emotionally changes when you are no longer a Christian.  When you are a Christian, you are living for the purpose and hopes of an afterlife or second life.  I tell my wife sometimes, “I’m no longer living for a second life, I’m living for this one.”  In that I am no longer in emotional suspense of death, but more fear never living

 “Do not fear death so much, but rather the inadequate life.” -Bertolt Brecht, The Mother

Yet in this new mindset I find life much more precious and beautiful.  Our life is precious, because we give meaning to death by living.  In that I don’t fear dying, but not living.

 

Related Articles

About M. Rodriguez

When I first received Christ salvation, I made it a priority to read the whole bible and I did. But it was the Bible that made me question my faith. For I found it flawed and lacking. Due to this I launched a personal inquiry/investigation into my faith, and ultimately realized that the Christian God of the Bible was indeed man-made. Now I Blog about those findings and life after Christ.
This entry was posted in agnostic, atheism, belief, death, emotions, freedom, quote, religion, sam harris, youtube and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Live everyday like you are Dying

  1. Noel says:

    This is a great post and awesome video. I will share it with loved ones. The Here and Now is the only thing we really have. Have you read the book “The Power of Now” ?

  2. Noel says:

    Eckhart Tolle is the author of this book. It is exactly what this post is about. I recommend it.

  3. Nate says:

    Love that last line, Marcus. Brilliantly written. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Top Atheist and Skeptic Scholars | The BitterSweet End

  5. Pingback: The Best of the BitterSweet Blog | The BitterSweet End

  6. Pingback: Top Regrets Men Have At the End of Their Lives | The BitterSweet End

Leave a Reply

