Free From Mental Oppression

I am free from the mental oppression and mental bondage of Christianity.

“I am free to think the things I think, free to appreciate the world around me for what it is, free to live my life now and not worry about my life after I die. I no longer have to feel guilty for my doubts, and that is a wonderful thing.”- The Secret Atheist

I no longer have to abide by cult logic, lazy reasoning, or zombie religiosity.  I can whole heatedly say that I am free from the mental oppression of religiosity.  I no longer have to be afraid of my own thoughts for fear it might produce doubts.  I no longer have to fear education and learning for the sake that I might learn something that conflicts with my religion or faith.  I can now explore the realms of science, philosophy, epistemology, history, and world religions.  Cause I no longer have my religion telling me it is wrong, or its the devil.  I can now dive deep into the topics of Islam and the Quran, buddhism, Darwin and evolution, quantum mechanics, the big bang and the cosmological universe.  I am now free to learn and educate myself, cause I no longer have to worry about learning something contradictory to my religion and faith.  No longer is being open-minded a negative thing.

I can now explore books that expand my mind.  I can now explore movies that I would have previously shunned.  I can now explore conversations with people who are different from me.  And maintain friendships with people who have different beliefs.  I am now free from the mental oppression and the bondage of my religion.

 “Walking away from religion allowed me to step away from magical thinking.” -(SunofmySoul, Magical Thinking)

 

About M. Rodriguez

When I first received Christ salvation, I made it a priority to read the whole bible and I did. But it was the Bible that made me question my faith. For I found it flawed and lacking. Due to this I launched a personal inquiry/investigation into my faith, and ultimately realized that the Christian God of the Bible was indeed man-made. Now I Blog about those findings and life after Christ.
This entry was posted in belief, Common Sense, evolution, evolution vs. creation, fallacious reasoning, Free-Thought, freedom, freethinker, life, philosophy, reasoning, religion, religion vs. science, The Thinking Atheist, theology, unbelief and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Free From Mental Oppression

  1. Neil Rickert says:

    Yes, you make an excellent point. This freedom is one of the benefits of dropping religion.

  2. unkleE says:

    I honestly feel I can agree with everything that is written here while following Jesus. I sure feel sorry for anyone who thought that following Jesus was like this suggests. (There are some things atheists could say that I couldn’t, but none were mentioned.)

  3. Arkenaten says:

    I have on occasion wondered what it does to Christians reading proper scientific data and even other religious doctrine.
    I imagine many must froth at the mouth or develop severe migraine from thinking.

  4. Pingback: The Best of the BitterSweet Blog | The BitterSweet End

  5. graceone says:

    Arkenaten, is it wise to put all Christian believers into the same box? There are many people of faith who greatly enjoy and benefit from inter-faith dialogue, or who may be scientists. I personally feel that God certainly doesn’t expect people to check their minds at the church door. 🙂

    I think it’s valid to share in a subjective way and state that my religion led me to bondage. But, can someone honestly judge that all religion will lead everyone to mental oppression and bondage?

    How can we really speak and judge another person’s experience of God in this way? It seems quite unfair and judgmental to me.

Leave a Reply

