A Unique Day at Work

This is a story about something that happened to me at work a few days ago.

 So that morning when getting ready for work, I woke up earlier than usual so I had a little time to burn.  I checked the blog.  Checked Facebook, made a few comments, and watched a few YouTube vids.  Then headed off to work.  It was really a very normal day.

Less than an hour after I arrived one of my co-workers who sits only a few cubicles from me named Mike rolled his chair over to me very discreetly and said…..  “I didn’t know you were an atheist.”

In shock I don’t even remember what I said, but it was probably along the lines of…  “Ah, huh, What?!?!?!?”

Mike had gone onto Facebook and noticed I had made a comment onto a blog page between atheist & theist.  The blog page had asked people to respond to what is their religious or non-religious belief.  And how long have they been that way.  I responded of course….Atheist, 1 Year…

(It was funny, because the majority of atheist who responded to the post said they have been an atheist all their life.  I was the only that said anything under 3 years.)

The only thing I remember mustering out of my mouth was, “I didn’t mean to leave that up.  I’m gonna take that down.”

“Yeah you might want to do that.” Replied Mike

I was wide eyed at that moment, because Mike had now discovered my secret.  Yeah I have told a few people, but I am not totally out of the atheist closet.  Another reason for alarm and anxiety at that moment was because Mike and I knew some of the same Christian Folk.  Mike goes to church on a very regular basis.  At least twice a week.  His son is an up and coming youth minister.  That is married to the pastor’s daughter.  We both know some of the same people in this area that work in Ministry.  Mike has seen me read my bible at work and talk about ministry, god, and Jesus.  We have both engaged into these type of discussions.

Then came the reply that really blew me away…..  “It’s okay, I am too.”  He said very discreetly.  “It just never really makes no logical sense.”

I went from a moment of anxiety and sweat, to a smile on my face.  (But of course, that was after I took down the post comment)

I told him nobody really knows except for a few people.  Not even SLY knows.  “Oh, yeah.  You better take it down before he sees it.  You need to do that.”  Replied Mike.   SLY is a co-worker of ours and a longtime friend of mine that I have known since college and getting saved.  He is a 5-Point Presuppositionalist Presbyterian Reformed Calvinist.  A.K.A…. He is not afraid to be confrontational to express his views of a Biblical Worldview.  I made sure to take it down before he saw it.  I do want to tell SLY one day, but not while we still work at the same job.  That would cause to much controversy and debating for a professional work environment.

All in All, It was refreshing to know there is fellow non-believer sitting a few seats from me.

After I took down the post and calmed down, I asked Mike if he doesn’t believe any of it, why does he go to church so much on a regular basis.  He answered.  “My Son, it saved his life. I don’t see nothing wrong with it, if it makes you a better person.”

About M. Rodriguez

When I first received Christ salvation, I made it a priority to read the whole bible and I did. But it was the Bible that made me question my faith. For I found it flawed and lacking. Due to this I launched a personal inquiry/investigation into my faith, and ultimately realized that the Christian God of the Bible was indeed man-made. Now I Blog about those findings and life after Christ.
This entry was posted in atheism, atheist, emotions, life, Response, unbelief and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to A Unique Day at Work

  1. Neil Rickert says:

    I suspect that there are many people like Mike who keep up appearances but don’t really believe any of it.

  2. Zoe Bloomer says:

    That’s an incredible story.
    I wish I could hear from a theist that it’s okay to be an atheist if it makes you a better person. 🙂

    • M. Rodriguez says:

      That probably won’t happen

      • Zoe Bloomer says:

        I’d have to agree thus far in my lifetime I haven’t witnessed it. I look forward to being surprised by it one day. 🙂

    • Howie says:

      Zoe – Your comment struck me as interesting – I had never thought of that. It’s funny because I know several atheists (I’m included) that do feel that it’s ok when others are spiritual or religious as long as it makes them a better person and doesn’t add burdens to others (and I realize that there are atheists who don’t go along with this sentiment), but it does seem difficult for most theists to say the opposite. My wife’s parents are Buddhist (perhaps a bit liberal kind of Buddhist, but they are definitely quite sincere about their spirituality) and both of them definitely say that it is ok for my wife and I to be atheist as long as we are good people and our atheism doesn’t add burdens to others. However, Buddhists probably are not quite classified under “theist” (although a lot of them do believe in “spirits” or “lower” gods.)

      • Mike says:

        I tried to dig deeper into Buddhism as lots of my colleagues are following their teachings and methods, but I soon realised that it is another form of ignorance when Buddhism claims that if you were not a good person in your current life, you might be reincarnated as a woman in your next life. That only put an end to my research and put Buddhism in the dustbin with all the other religions

      • Zoe Bloomer says:

        I get that a lot Howie. In real-time as opposed to online time I’ll say something like that and others will stop cold, pause, say they never thought about it like that, then I listen to the crickets and they awkwardly move on. 🙂

  3. Mike says:

    Well, in this part of the world, Europe, and even in my own birth town (Bethlehem Israel, where I live 25 years of my life) saying that you are an Atheist is not a big deal. I wonder why on earth something of that sort should be difficult to say in the USA! It is like two kids keeping a naive secret, with all the due respect to both of you.

    Sure I don’t know the context where you live in, but I find it difficult to hide it and live in a lie. I am an Atheist and I sometimes go to church to debate Christians in their meeting, and nobody see it a scandal!

  4. unkleE says:

    Yeah, I’m a bit with Mike. In Australia, it wouldn’t be a big deal. Most people are neither atheist or believer, just ….. nothing. So if a believer or an atheist makes a strong statement of their views that may make people roll their eyes a little, but no-one cares all that much. And if an atheist or a believer are sensitive to others, their views are generally respected – I know mine nearly always were when I was working. I would find it strange to have to keep quiet about either belief or disbelief.

    But I found your story sort of familiar, Marcus, in the enjoyment you found in finding a fellow non-believer. It is quite the same when I find a fellow believer – there is a connection.

    Yeah Zoe, I can understand your thought: “I wish I could hear from a theist that it’s okay to be an atheist if it makes you a better person.” I guess it depends on what “OK” means. I have atheist friends, and non-belieiving friends, and they are good people and I can appreciate that and tell them that. But I still believe they are missing out on the best thing of all, so while I don’t keep saying that to them, I can’t say what I don’t believe either. I’ve tried to express that to you as sensitively and unconfrontational as I can, so I hope you aren’t offended, and I’m sorry if other christians have been aggressive about saying it. But in the end, I have to stick with what I believe is true. But I certainly wish you well.

  5. Noel says:

    I am also relieved to find people who think in a similar way as I do, even though I don’t even know how to classify myself, except a reflective Christian. Anyways, it is comforting and a relief to know that I am not alone in this world. I guess, from a typical Christian view, it is not enough to be a “good” or “better” person, because, according to today’s church, it is all about Jesus, not us. At the same time, Jesus said “you are the salt of the earth”, so he did give us some credit after all. Personally, I strongly believe that we are “better” when we reach out and serve others unconditionally. That is what would make us Christlike, Godly, or “better.”

  6. Eva says:

    Like UnkleE said above, no one really cares here in Australia- but you are certainly more likely to get the side- eye if you profess Christianity than if you say you’re an atheist!

    • Zoe Bloomer says:

      I use to get the “side-eye” look as a professing born-again Christian by other Christians, especially the liberal/progressives. That darn Zoe is going to that fundamaentalist Baptist church! :mrgreen:

  7. makagutu says:

    That was a real twist.

  8. Mary says:

    I enjoyed this very much. Thank you.

  9. Ben says:

    Hey, glad that went better than expected! 🙂

    Also, this kind of thing is why I’ve friended exactly zero coworkers.

  10. Great story! Although I do think certain forms of Christianity are harmful, I’m not convinced they all are. I’d have to know what your co-workers son believes to decide if I think there’s any harm.

  11. Arkenaten says:

    Good grief, Marcus. This sounds worse than a person admitting they were gat, got god;s sake. In this day and age it is mind boggling that one has to be nervous of “coming out” in such a fashion.

    These religious types truly are not normal.

  12. Pingback: The Greatest Evil About Religion | The BitterSweet End

Leave a Reply

