Turning 30 and a Half

Okay I confess that this is a cheesy Blog title, but I needed something.

I actually turned 30 about five months ago, back in July.  I actually wanted to do an update post about my life back in July, but I was very busy with work.  During this past summer, I was a candidate for a Supervisor Position at my job.  And because of that, I was involved in several projects at my job, that caused me to stay late after work several days.  And the days I got home on time, I was mentally and emotionally exhausted.  So this blog was an afterthought.  (And after all that, I still did not get the position.  They gave it to some person who came from outside the company.  A few people were pissed about that.)  And because I work in Medicare in Insurance.  We are extremely busy from September to the First week of December.  In fact just the other week I worked an 80 hour work week.

BitterSweet Updates and Muses

It has been nearly a year and a half since I told my wife, the Pastor, and stepped down from my position in the Youth Ministry.  And as for me and Mrs. BittersweetEnd (A.K.A. formerly Mrs Biblereader), we are doing well.  Alot better.  Time does heal.  We really don’t talk much about religion or God that much.  And when we do, it is usually very  superficial……“How was Church?”……………”Good”…….”The Pastor talked about 1st Corinthians and love”……..”And how was that?”………………”It was Good, he likes to use football analogies alot to describe things.  And half the women at the church have no clue what he means when he does that.”…………..”Well that sounds good.”

We really try to avoid more spiritually deep topics that could turn into arguments where we end up stepping onto each others ego.  We no longer still attend the same church anymore.  In fact, I no longer attend church at all.  However I still will attend if it is at special request of my wife.  For example they had something called ADAM Sunday, where everybody invites a Man to church.  The wife asked me and her uncle to attend.  So I went.  We don’t argue about church or religion anymore.  And my son who is 4 years old.  Really enjoys church.  He is constantly asking to go back to church.  (Probably because all he really does at church is play.)  I don’t mind; it doesn’t bother me.  As long as he is a happy 4 year old, that is all I care about.

What I have discovered about myself since I no longer go to church and free from the nonsense of church.  Is that I still really like listening to christian and gospel music.  And will still listen to it on occasion, because I find it extremely relaxing and soothing.  I think that is something my wife still really enjoys about me, knowing that if each decides to put on some christian music during the day; that she can play it loud and I won’t mind and will probably enjoy the music myself and sing along.

I also enjoy reading non-fiction alot, which is something I have never done.  I have read the hunger games trilogy, ender’s game, divergent and several other sci-fi and young adult books.  Next on my list is the hobbit.

I have several other religious/atheist topic books on my bookshelf, that I still have not read such as the God Delusion by Richard Dawkins and Forgery by Bart Ehrman, but the truth is that at times, I feel like it is a waste of energy putting so much effort into God that does not exist.  I’m sure one day I will get around to these books and eventually do a post book review.  But until then I rather read something that entertains me, not educate me.

Through this last year, I have learned to smile more, enjoy life more, and laugh more.  And I hope everyone can have that same feeling of joy and peace in their mind.  Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!!!

I shall finish this post with one final parting thought that is not my own, but I in my opinion I consider it to be an invaluable piece of advice.

About M. Rodriguez

When I first received Christ salvation, I made it a priority to read the whole bible and I did. But it was the Bible that made me question my faith. For I found it flawed and lacking. Due to this I launched a personal inquiry/investigation into my faith, and ultimately realized that the Christian God of the Bible was indeed man-made. Now I Blog about those findings and life after Christ.
This entry was posted in atheism, atheist, character, church, life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Turning 30 and a Half

  1. Nate says:

    I’m really glad to hear that things are going so well. I also think it’s great that you don’t seem to have a huge animosity toward religion — the fact that you can still listen to religious music and support your wife in her beliefs is a very good thing, in my opinion. I hope things continue to go well for you.

    And Happy Holidays to you as well! 🙂

  2. Neil Rickert says:

    Happy birthday, even if it is 5 months late.

    I’m really glad to hear that things are working out well for you and your family.

  3. unkleE says:

    30! I can remember (just) when I was 30. It’s a good time of life I reckon.

    Yeah, I’m glad you have both reached an understanding, but sorry you missed out on the job. As for 80 hours work in a week …..!!!

    I agree with you when you say “I feel like it is a waste of energy putting so much effort into God that does not exist.” If I was an atheist, I would want to spend my life on things I did believe in – family, friends, social justice, etc.

    Best wishes for Christmas and New Year!

  4. Noel says:

    I agree with Nate. Supporting your wife in spite of differences is awesome. You are the first atheist I read about who still listens to Christian music. I am not an atheist, but I can’t stand religious music anymore. I used to listen to them all the time, but now all I listen to are non-religious. I am not sure if it is my rebellious nature being manifested, or simply the effect of my disillusionment with church. BTW, happy 30th. I just turned 39 last month and I wish I was back to 30, so enjoy your youth while you can!

  5. unkleE says:

    I’m a christian, but I’m not a fan of most christian music either, so mostly I listen to secular music – though some of the best secular music is by artists with strong christian influences (U2, Sufjan Stevens, Midnight Oil, The Middle East).

Leave a Reply

