The Free Flowing Knowledge of Religion

I can’t help but wonder whats more foolish?  Rejecting a religion after its holy book, Or rejecting all other religions after reading just one holy book?

The reason I ask this rhetorical question, because we are guilty of this mindset at one point or another.  Atheist, Christian, Catholic, Muslim, Jew, Mormon and even Buddhist.  We so easily reject all other faiths, after knowing little to none about the functionality of other religions.  What I have noticed growing up in both the South and North, is that those who grow up knowing about diverse cultures and diverse religions avoid the dogmatic behavior of most radicals sects of most religions.

Teach a child one religion, and you indoctrinate them. Teach them many, and you inoculate them.”— Unknown

Give a man religious book he will become a follower for life.  Give him two, he will be done in an hour.” –University of Calgary Freethinkers by way of Cubik’s Rube

Even though I am atheist, and my wife is a christian, I should not indoctrinate my kids one way or another, but give them the knowledge of all religions.  And there are alot.  That knowledge of religion should not be restricted but embraced. That we should not be afraid to learn about religion, but afraid that we only learn about one.  And in gaining knowledge, truth can be discovered.  And this is why I have no fear if my children decide to be religous or not.

Related Articles

About M. Rodriguez

When I first received Christ salvation, I made it a priority to read the whole bible and I did. But it was the Bible that made me question my faith. For I found it flawed and lacking. Due to this I launched a personal inquiry/investigation into my faith, and ultimately realized that the Christian God of the Bible was indeed man-made. Now I Blog about those findings and life after Christ.
This entry was posted in atheism, belief, christian, christian history, debate, Free-Thought, freethinker, history, life, Musings for Life, Philosophy for Life, reason, reasonable evidence, religion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Free Flowing Knowledge of Religion

  1. Noel says:

    Great post! I have a similar take on it… I do not want to indoctrinate my children to follow a specific faith, but I rather want them to follow whatever they have learned and searched to be true for themselves. I used to be a fundamentalist Christian, but now I am simply a seeker, but my wife maintains her Christian faith. How exactly do you two live in peace in spite of such difference of spiritual opinion? thanks.

    • M. Rodriguez says:

      We Yell….. j/k

      I don’t really care for or against the indoctrination, and because our children are still pretty young. It’s not an issue. I have told my wife, that when we come to the topic I will answer the questions honestly.

      but i don’t think my wife cares as much any more, because she knows I am not an atheist activist, nor am i a preachy atheist nor do I desire to convert people. I am actually pretty non-confrontational.

  2. Nate says:

    Great post, and nice to see you back at the blog! Hope you’re doing well 🙂

  3. ChRN says:

    “I am simply a seeker” , “I am actually pretty non-confrontational” are well grounded, deserve great appreciation as these are inspiring. It seems a non-confrontational seeker is a best learner. however, animals, plants are learner too – having advantage over these creations as a best learner- how can one absorb into the Source from where this learner, likely has originated.

  4. AfroAtheist says:

    @Rodriguez, I am maybe on the same path as yours, having spent 37 yrs. of my life as a fundamentalist bible punching Christians and after 10yrs of marriage I became a freethinker! My wife is still a Christian and our kids are obviously following her to church and prayers.

  5. duff gordon says:

    Dear Rod, Read Psalm 22 and Isaiah 53 AFTER reading all Resurrection accounts. Don’t blow me off. If you want to save hours you can google those chapters and precise fulfillment of far too many coincidences. Finally read I Corinthians 15, especially where Paul makes the obvious (for thinkers) debate- “Do you really think I would risk God’s wrath for believing in His son if I didn’t know it to be true?? Do you really think I wouldn’t be partying every night? Only to be met by God looking for answers??

    • Nate says:

      Hi Duff,

      I don’t think many people doubt Paul’s sincerity — personally, I do think he had some kind of conversion experience that was very meaningful to him, but I don’t think it was literally a divine revelation. I’d say most religious leaders in the past have been totally sincere. I think Muhammad really believed he was a prophet of Allah, but just because he believed it doesn’t mean I should or that there’s any truth to it.

      As far as Isaiah 53 and Psalm 22, you’re right that the way they tie into the passion narratives makes a good case for prophecy fulfillment. And if those were the only prophecies in the OT, there’s a good chance I’d still be a Christian. But after seeing all the failed prophecies and the things that are claimed to be prophecies (but aren’t) by the writer of Matthew, it seems more likely to me that the similarities of the passion narratives to these two passages comes from a deliberate effort by the writers to make those connections and not from any actual prophetic nature.

      Also, when taken in context, it’s harder to take Isaiah 53 as a prophecy of the Messiah. After all, several chapters in Isaiah deal with the “suffering servant,” and certain passages identify this servant as the personification of the nation of Israel (41:8-10; 43:1; 44:1; 44:21; 45:4; 48:20; 49:3). Also, Isaiah 53 seems to borrow heavily from Psalm 44, which is unquestionably a poem about the nation of Israel.

      By the way, if you’re unfamiliar with the failed prophecies (and non-prophecies) that I referred to earlier, I can point you to the passages.

      Take care

Leave a Reply

