The Thinking Atheist at the Oklahoma Free-thought Convention

I saw this for the first time on the blog of The Godless Monster.  I thought it would be interesting to put up.  Just to give a little Background, the video is a PowerPoint presentation by Seth, The Thinking Atheist at the Oklahoma Free-Thought convention in 2011.

About M. Rodriguez

When I first received Christ salvation, I made it a priority to read the whole bible and I did. But it was the Bible that made me question my faith. For I found it flawed and lacking. Due to this I launched a personal inquiry/investigation into my faith, and ultimately realized that the Christian God of the Bible was indeed man-made. Now I Blog about those findings and life after Christ.
This entry was posted in atheist, atheist vs christian, christ, Free-Thought, god, gospel of matthew, jesus, jesus the christ, The Thinking Atheist, theology and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Thinking Atheist at the Oklahoma Free-thought Convention

  1. Margaret says:

    Thank you for this and I have passed it on!

    • M. Rodriguez says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed it, this was actually the first atheist video I ever watched. It didn’t convince me, but it did make a great point about taking off the God Goggles. But he is wrong in one area, you don’t take them off,

        You Shed Them
  2. exrelayman says:

    I enjoyed this video. So many videos I cannot enjoy because the sound is not clear or at a constant level. This was very pleasant to listen to, as well as cogent in the points made.

    Most likely it is through this site that I have discovered the Finding Truth blog. I have only just started reading through the back pages and have not not commented there yet, but I see your comments, so presume I most likely got there through you – thanks for that, I admire the clarity of his thinking and enjoy his writing.

    • M. Rodriguez says:

      Yeah the Finding Truth Blog is awesome, I get alot of sources from over there. Nate from Finding Truth has been most helpful. I would probably say out of all the blogs I read, he was #1 for me.

  3. limey says:

    I must confess I am struggling with this, I subscribe to his podcast as well and I struggle similarly with that as well.

    Its not that I disagree with what he is saying, I’ve not found anything I disagree with (I’m about halfway through).

    My difficulty is how he’s saying it. It comes across to me as mocking, almost “look at those silly Christians and their silly beliefs”. Its especially uncomfortable to me knowing that he used to have a faith and so he should know what its like to be on the other end of the stuff he’s saying. Its almost as thought he’s jumped on the mocking bandwagon just to be more popular with his new audience.

    If I were a still Christian and I was watching this I’d be offended by now and would have turned it off. As it is, I’m watching it thinking, “he’s right but who is benefiting from this?” He’s not telling me anything I don’t already know and he’s not telling it in a way that would have helped my previous Christian self, so I’m left with a comic routine and I can go other places for a better laugh.

    • M. Rodriguez says:

      I’m afraid to say thats actually a large part of the atheist community, getting together to mock and laugh at the christian. Just check out freethought blogs, and you will see what I mean.

      But there are a few who do try to reach out the christian to get them to truley think and evaluate their religion and faith.

      my recommendations who want heartfelt commentary instead riducle and mockery

      Dr. Neil degrasse Tyson
      Dr. Jerry Coyne
      Dr. Bart Ehrman
      Dr. Lawrence Krauss

      The matter of doubt podcast
      and the center of skeptics inquiry podcast
      and the angry atheist is half decent, its good, but not great from not mocking the religous

      I can also come up with a list of recommended blogs, if you want too.

      • limey says:

        Thanks for the suggestions, feel free to recommend some specific blogs, though I should say I subscribe to so many now its very hard to keep up and I often pass over many posts just to save myself from being bogged down. Its almost that I spend so much time trying to catch up on blogs and podcasts that I never get a chance to do anything for myself.

        Anyway, I do read Jerry Coyne’s blog but I do find his constant railing against religion and accommodation unsettling at time. Its almost as though he has such a rabid hatred that he’s incapable of rational thought when it comes to religion.

        I respect Niel degrasse Tyson and so will likely look him up, I already follow Phil Plait, but struggle to read all his posts due to the aforementioned time constraints.

Leave a comment