Why are you an Atheist in 100 words or less?

Sometimes, when I think of the different ways to answer the question, “Why are you an atheist?”  or  “Why don’t you believe in God?”  I really can’t think of simple way to answer that question.  I truly fell like I am atheist by default; what else should I call myself when one comes to discover that the christian god of the bible does not exist.  (My complete answer is actually really long.)

When I think of different ways of how I would actually answer depending on who was asking or why they were asking?  Do I give the conclusion, the story, or just the end result of the why?  Are they asking about Christianity or some generic metaphysical god?  Is it the God of the Bible or a more liberal version of the Christian God?  or are they wanting to know Why I don’t believe in God or Why I am an atheist?

So I would like to here from the masses on this one.  Why are you an atheist in 100 words or less?

Related Articles

 

About M. Rodriguez

When I first received Christ salvation, I made it a priority to read the whole bible and I did. But it was the Bible that made me question my faith. For I found it flawed and lacking. Due to this I launched a personal inquiry/investigation into my faith, and ultimately realized that the Christian God of the Bible was indeed man-made. Now I Blog about those findings and life after Christ.
This entry was posted in atheism, atheist, deconversion, Free-Thought, Musings for Life, occam's razor, reason, reasoning, religion, skeptic, skepticism, unbelief and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Why are you an Atheist in 100 words or less?

  1. Neil Rickert says:

    1: Because it is all made up;
    2: Because the churches are filled with pious hypocrites.

  2. Ben says:

    Because when I was unexpectedly presented with a choice between verifiable truth and the Bible, I chose the truth.

  3. Pingback: Instrumental In Leaving The Faith | Dangerous Talk

  4. Arkenaten says:

    Once I discovered the first lie within the bible I soon realised there were more. and would not tolerate being lied to, and when I conduct any form of research into these matters I discover a least one more lie
    every time.

  5. Because it just doesn’t make sense. What is the difference between a God who cannot be seen, heard or detected in anyway, who doesn’t affect our lives at all, and one that doesn’t exist? If not a word of religion was true, what would the world look like? Answer: exactly like ours.

Leave a comment